image

December 21, 2023  |  Architecture, Interiors, Landscape, Entertainment

Your Guide to Project Sharing in Vectorworks Design Software


Alex Altieri

In Vectorworks software, Project Sharing is a multiuser environment used to simultaneously collaborate on the same file at the same time, regardless of location.

It’s a powerful tool for collaboration, and one that makes sure project data and geometry is the most current in a project file. But there are some important things to keep in mind to use it successfully.

Setting Up Project Sharing

Understand Project Files and Working Files

The Project File (.vwxp) is the shared master file to which everyone on the project ultimately commits their work. A Working File (.vwxw) is an individual, temporary file that you and your teammates each save locally. Working Files are used to commit changes to the project file periodically to keep the project file up to date. Each user can also refresh their working file with the latest changes from the project file.

Store the Project File in a Centralized Location

It’s crucial to place the Project File in a centralized location that can be easily accessed by all team members. You have the option to choose between a server or a Cloud folder, so you have the flexibility to set up Project Sharing in a way that works best for you and your team.

If you opt for a server, make use of the project sharing server application, which is typically installed on the company server.

If you choose a cloud folder, it’s recommended to use Vectorworks Cloud Services and the 100 GB of storage that comes with each Vectorworks license. However, most cloud applications are also compatible.

Additionally, remember to share the entire folder with all team members, rather than just sharing the file itself.

Vectorworks Cloud Services can do a few extra things behind the scenes to keep your Project File in sync. For example, Vectorworks can detect that the cloud folder is present and that a Project File lives inside it. Speed, sync quality, and configuration, however, are still up to that cloud provider.

1 VCS Shared Folder

Limit Administrative Permissions

It’s advisable to limit administrative permissions to only the project manager and another office member, such as a BIM Manager or someone not directly involved in the project. This additional member can serve as a backup administrator in case the project manager is unavailable. Limiting administrative permissions encourages transparent communication, because only the project administrators can manage checked-out layers or objects of other team members.

 

2 User Permissions

Referencing Other Files

When referencing other files, it’s best to place them in the same location as the project file. These references can be regular Vectorworks files (.vwx), other Project Files (.vwxp), PDF (.pdf), DWG (.dwg), Revit (.rvt), and Excel files (.xlsx).

3 Reference File Location

Tips for Managing Project and Working Files

Managing Project and Working Files properly helps maintain file integrity, prevent conflicts, and establish a smooth collaboration workflow. Here are some tips:

  • You should only have one working file at a time and should only use one computer to connect to the project file.
  • The names of your Project Files and Working File serve as the connection between said files, so don't change the names of the files.
  • It's important to save your working file on your local desktop and avoid saving it on a server or in the cloud.
  • Never make a copy of your Project File, because copies of the Project File can fork in separate directions, and your team loses the single, current source of truth everyone depends on.
  • Don't duplicate your Working File. Multiple versions of a working file can create syncing conflicts.
  • Working File backups are standard Vectorworks files and cannot be used to reconnect to Project Files, so if you need information from a backup file, you must manually copy and paste it.
  • Save your Working File frequently. You can save it without committing to the Project File.

Checking Out and Committing to the Project File

Check Out Exactly What You Need

Check out all the necessary layers and objects for a specific task. This will streamline and improve efficiency. Conversely, avoid checking out unnecessary items that others may need. Successful Project Sharing requires careful planning and effective communication.

Always remember to Save, Commit, and Release at the end of your workday. This ensures that if someone starts early the next day or if you’re unable to come to work, objects are not checked out by you and unavailable to others.

4 Save and Commit

Work on the Go with Offline Mode

If you need to continue working while not connected to the Project File, you can check out objects and work in Offline mode. Keep in mind that, once offline, you can’t check out additional objects, so make sure you have everything you need checked out. You also can’t commit your work until you reconnect to the project file, so plan accordingly.

Dive Deeper into Project Sharing

You don’t need a ton of time to keep learning about Project Sharing. In fact, you only need about five(ish) minutes.

In this first video from the “Vectorworks in 5ish” YouTube series, you can check out best practices for workflow protocols:

In this second video, you can watch and learn more about best practices for Working Files:

VECTORWORKS IN 5ISH

Discover quick, practical videos designed to help you work smarter and faster.

WATCH NOW

Stay in the know with the latest insights

Subscribers receive news, customer stories, success and learning tips, event information, and other important announcements from Vectorworks.

By submitting this form, you agree that Vectorworks, Inc. and its authorized partners may contact you in regards to news, offers, and the use of our software, services, and platforms. Learn more about our privacy practices and your data on our privacy page.*